Parliament suspends parliamentary status of three Kurdish MPs


Iraqi parliament on Wednesday suspended the parliamentary status of three Kurdish lawmakers for disrupting a session of the parliament.

An official letter from the office of the Parliament Speaker Salim al-Jabouri says the three Kurdish lawmakers, Masud Haider, Sirwan Abdulla and Shakhawan Abdulla, would be suspended for 15 days from their parliamentary status.

The Kurdish lawmakers prevented the 2018 federal budget bill from passing after they stood in front of the presidency’s podium to stop the financial committee of the Iraqi parliament from reading a report on the bill.

Iraqi parliament held a session on Monday (February 5) to vote on the 2018 federal budget bill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here